I KNOW BUT…

I know I’m not supposed to smile

With all that is going on.

I know I don’t have a right to laugh

While my living looks dead.

I know I shouldn’t be this excited,

Over the countdown to the end.

I know trauma accosts me at every mile

But that is shorter than the triumph

That will blow my way.

The fails may cement the wails

And make the joy too coy to show itself;

Be it though the pains outweigh the gains

I will not faint lest my mind wanes.

I know I shouldn’t celebrate

Another year riddled with seeming agony.

But my heart is filled glee

And nothing will make this flee.

Leave a Reply

